Tuesday, May 08, 2007

No Big Surprises In Marion County

The Marion County election results are coming in pretty much as expected, notwithstanding County Clerk Beth White's major bungling of today's primary election. Mayor Bart Peterson is handily defeating his primary opponent Tony Knight by an 88%-12% margin. The Democrats' at-large CCC candidates are all winning easily, including Joann Sanders, Ron Gibson, King "Ro" Conley and Rozelle Boyd. Angela Mansfield and Jackie Nytes are easily turning back their Democratic challengers. Carey Hamilton is also easily beating Pamela Hickman in District 4. Jon Katz, however, appears to have lost to Joe Billerman in District 21.

On the Republican side, GOP Chairman Tom John can breathe a sigh of relief. Greg Ballard has easily outdistanced his GOP challengers in the mayor's race, winning about 68% of the vote. It also appears that at least 3 of the party-backed candidates for the at-large CCC seats will win, including Ed Coleman, Michael Hegg and Kent Smith. Michael Jezierski, however, is trailing Barbara Malone by 30 votes with 75% of the votes counted.

In Lawrence, controversial Mayor Deborah Cantwell has turned back a strong challenge from Dean Jessup. She is winning by a 60%-40% margin with most of the votes counted. She will face former Lawrence Assessor Paul Ricketts.

No comments: