Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Ten Semi-Finalists Named For Supreme Court Vacancy

The Indiana Judicial Nominating Commission has narrowed the list of candidates to fill the vacancy created by the retirement of Justice Frank Sullivan to ten semi-finalists after interviewing all 22 candidates who applied for the vacancy. The list of semi-finalists, which includes six women and four men, is as follows:

1. Hon. Cale J. Bradford, Indiana Court of Appeals
2. Hon. Frances M. Gull, Allen Superior Court
3. Ms. Erin Reilly Lewis, Indianapolis
4. Ms. Andrielle M. Metzel, Indianapolis
5. Hon. Steven R. Nation, Hamilton Superior Court 1
6. Hon. Loretta H. Rush, Tippecanoe Superior Court 3
7. Mr. Geoffrey G. Slaughter, Indianapolis
8. Hon. Marianne L. Vorhees, Delaware Circuit Court 1
9. Hon. Mary G. Willis, Henry Circuit Court 1
10. Mr. John P. Young, Indianapolis

The Commission plans to interview the semi-finalists on August 8 and 9 before narrowing the search to the three finalists it will submit to Gov. Mitch Daniels for consideration. The Commission and Gov. Daniels are feeling pressure to appoint a qualified female candidate in light of the fact that no women currently serve on Indiana's high court. Interestingly, the vast majority of the 22 candidates this time around were woman. Of the 16 women candidates, only six or about a third were advanced as semi-finalist candidates, while the Commission advanced four of the six male candidates who applied for the vacancy. I have no good guesses as to who will be the three finalists or who the Governor's ultimate choice will be.

Justice Robert Rucker also ended speculation that he might retire from the bench this year. He filed paperwork to be placed on the November ballot for judicial retention. Justice Steven David, who was Gov. Daniels first appointee to the Supreme Court, will also face retention this November.

No comments: